Android Studio: Increase Speed #hardware Upgrade Guide

Android Studio: Increase Speed #hardware Upgrade Guide

Warning: this is when you have money First of all repeat after me:

I DO NOT NEED A MACBOOK TO DEVELOP ANDROID APPS/ BE A GOOD DEVELOPER

BUT say you have money and want to invest in a set-Up, then this is for you. Louder? one more time :)

If you have some money to upgrade your set-Up: While this should not be a limiting factor in your Android studio Developer journey, as you start making some money start putting aside money to invest in improving your set up. You don't need to do it at once, but slowly by slowly you should get this done. From my experience, you can buy upgrade yourself in this order:(If you are on Mac ecosystem...hmm tough one as almost all of these are soldered together. I know there is a rumor you can still upgrade)

1. SSD drive 256/500GB: Any matters. NVME performs better as an SSD. Overall though an SSD will out perform your traditional HDD. Get one. The size you decide to go for is all up top your pocket: I moved from HDD 2TB to SSD 500GB and performance for windows and Android Studio just went up! Unix environments will be no different.

2. RAM Upgrade. Check the mother board capacity before you upgrade. A ton of resources exist out there on how to upgrade RAM based on the motherboard of your laptop.

3. Latest Generation Processor When upgrading your laptop: the processor speed not the ram matters here. i5 8th Generation will work faster than a i7 3rd generation.(For Intel based processors). As we write there are rumors of an 11th Gen Intel Processor coming out late 2020. maybe wait for it :). For AMD users, the latest the better.

Update! 4.Multiple Screens this is my current set-Up.**It has taken me a while to get here.**

set-up.jpg

I have been using multiple screen set-up for a little over 3 years now. And my productivity has shot up. I decided to invest in it because i knew how important it would be(Oh also because i just wanted to- This is NOT important, BUT it is helpful :p ).

With those you are pretty much done. Let me know your thoughts on hardware upgrades.

Photo by Djurdjica Boskovic on Unsplash